Nigeria is a Federal Republic with thirty six (36) States and a Federal Capital Territory with the seat of government in Abuja. The former capital (Lagos State) however remains the commercial center of activities. Nigeria shares borders with the Republic of Niger in the North, Benin Republic in the West, Chad and Cameroon in the East while its coast lies along the Gulf of Guinea on the Atlantic Ocean.